The Concept of Dot truck inspection checklist

- Advertisement -

To ensure roadway safety, all commercial vehicles are to pass the dot inspection checklist by the Department of Transport (DoT). During the inspection, the vehicle along with all its parts and accessories will be inspected to ensure they are in optimum performance level and safe for road safety. Below we have come up with the detailed DOT truck inspection checklist to ensure that you are ready for the thorough inspection by the DoT and avoid any penalties.

The six levels of truck DoT inspection

The DoT inspection truck inspection program in the North-America comprises of six robust levels of inspections which are to be performed by officials to ensure fitness and road safety standards of the vehicle, as well as, to ensure that the vehicle meets all laws and regulations. Out of the six inspection levels, level one is the most performed inspection, whereas, levels two, three, and five are also fairly common. The important part to note is that most of the time truck driver pre-trip inspection checklist isn’t known by the drivers and officials can perform any level of inspection. Thereby, truck drivers need to stay updated with the requirements for all the six inspection levels.

Level I: North American Standard Inspection

- Advertisement -

The level one truck inspection is one of the most detailed and thorough truck inspections. It is also the most frequently conducted inspection level by the officials. At this inspection level, the officials will be inspecting the entire vehicle including all the parts and accessories. The inspection will be done for cargo securement, braking system, battery, lighting, tires, and other systems and parts.

Apart from inspecting the vehicle, the officials also conduct sessions with the drivers to check the alcohol or drug usage signs, as well as, check their knowledge of the safety regulations like the use of seat belts, lighting and others. In a case where the vehicle is found in violation of regulations, it may be put out of service by the officer.

Level II: Walk-Around Driver/Vehicle Inspection

- Advertisement -

The truck inspection checklist for level two is pretty similar to the level one, with the exception that in level two inspection the officer doesn’t check the parts/accessories of the vehicles which can be check by going underneath the vehicle. Instead, here the officer only inspects the parts/accessories by walking around the vehicle, along with the drivers’ credentials and documentation.

Level III: Driver-Only Inspection

The level three truck inspection checklists only include inspection of the documentation and credential of drivers. Some of the items to prepare for level three inspection include:

  • Driving license
  • Hours of Service (HOS)
  • Electronic logging device(ELD)
  • Driver vehicle inspection report (DVIR)
  • Record of duty status (RODS)

Level IV: Special Inspections

- Advertisement -

Level four inspections are easy and rare. Inspection at this stage is conduction for a particular item for instance engine or the documentation. This is usually done for research purposes only.

Level V: Vehicle-Only Inspection

The level five inspection is pretty similar to the level one inspection, with the exception that at this level there is no inspection for the driver’s documentation of knowledge about safe driving. Also, there is no need for the driver to be present with the DoT during the level five inspection.

Level VI: Enhanced NAS Inspection for Radioactive Shipments

This level of inspection is exclusively conducted for commercial vehicles and trucks carrying hazardous freight (radiological shipment, nuclear waste, medical waste, etc.).

- Advertisement -
Harshvarshan Jha
Harsh Vardhan Jha is an Indian business blogger. He believes that Content and Social Media Marketing are the strongest forms of marketing nowadays and also know how to work on. You can contact him...

Related Stories

How to Decorate Small Spaces Like a Pro

Well, this is true that you can decorate a big room easily while putting large size items but decorating small spaces is...

Points to Consider while planning to Renovate Your Home

It is in human nature that a person gets bored with the same thing which stays too long. Well, investing in a...

What are the symptoms and causes of Hammer’s toe and Mallet Toe?

Are you troubled with pain in the toes? Do you feel your toes are jammed in your shoes and cause excruciating pain?...

What Benefits Do the Best Dog Supplements Provide For Your Dog?

Supplements are gaining popularity among US households and also in other countries around the world. There is no denying that supplements can...

The role of managers and leaders.

Business management and operations can be defined as evaluating, monitoring and streamlining a business organisation or an organizational procedure in order to...

8 Cooking Tips For Making Your Seafood Dishes Healthier And Guilt-Free

If you’re planning to have a lighter, healthier menu for today's lunch, choosing seafood for your entree is a smart choice. Compared...

The advantages of same day delivery

Running a business is not always as simple as the owners would like it to be. From time to time you would...

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you

How to Decorate Small Spaces Like a Pro

Well, this is true that you can...

Points to Consider while planning to Renovate Your Home

It is in human nature that a...

What are the symptoms and causes of Hammer’s toe and Mallet Toe?

Are you troubled with pain in the...